DaMarcus Beasley and Michael Orozco Denied Release for USA-Mexico on … – US Soccer.com

Posted: Tuesday, April 01, 2014

No Replacements Will be Added for April 2 Match; U.S. Roster Stands at 20 Players

© Matt West/U.S. Soccer

IN THE IMAGE: U.S. Men’s National Team defender DaMarcus Beasley

CHICAGO (March 31, 2014) – Puebla has refused the request to release U.S. Men’s National Team defenders DaMarcus Beasley and Michael Orozco for the match
between the USA and Mexico on April 2. U.S. head coach Jurgen Klinsmann will not add any replacements, reducing the roster to 20 players available for

“We are very disappointed in the decision by Puebla,” said Klinsmann. “When the match was scheduled, it was with the spirit that both teams would have
access to their domestic-based players for what is a very important game for those competing for spots in the World Cup. Both MLS and most clubs in Liga MX
honored that idea. While we understand their position, it’s a huge opportunity lost for DaMarcus and Michael and doesn’t contribute to the continuation of
this respected rivalry.”

The U.S. squad began gathering Sunday in advance of USA-Mexico, presented by AT&T, on April 2 at University of Phoenix Stadium. The match kicks off at
8 p.m. Arizona Time (11 p.m. ET) and will be broadcast live on ESPN, WatchESPN, UniMas and ESPN Deportes Radio. Fans can also follow the match live on
Twitter @ussoccer.

More than 50,000 tickets have been sold for the USA’s final match before the start of the 2014 FIFA World Cup preparation camp.

U.S. ROSTER BY POSITION – Detailed Roster
GOALKEEPERS (3): Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Sean Johnson (Chicago Fire), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)
DEFENDERS (6): Tony Beltran (Real Salt Lake), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Clarence Goodson (San Jose Earthquakes), Michael Parkhurst
(Columbus Crew), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders FC)
MIDFIELDERS (7): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Maurice Edu (Philadelphia Union),
Luis Gil (Real Salt Lake), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)
FORWARDS (4): Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Julian Green (Bayern Munich), Eddie Johnson (D.C. United), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)


Write a Reply or Comment:

Your email address will not be published.*